• ejones357

Two Red Stars Selected for U.S. WNT Summer Series Roster

Tierna Davidson and Alyssa Naeher selected for June games against Portugal,

Jamaica, and Nigeria


Chicago (May 25, 2021) - The United States Women’s National Team (U.S. WNT) announced their roster for the upcoming Summer Series presented by AT&T 5G. The series includes matches against Portugal, Jamaica, and Nigeria on June 10, 13 and 16 respectively. Red Stars defender Tierna Davidson and goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher were selected as part of the 23-player training camp roster. Midfielder Julie Ertz has been ruled out of the Summer Series due to an MCL injury suffered while playing with the Chicago Red Stars in the first game of the new NWSL season.


In 69 career appearances, Naeher has 40 career shutouts with the U.S. WNT. She has played in six matches for the team in 2021. Naeher was in net against France and Sweden during the squad’s victories over both teams in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.


Davidson already has 29 international appearances, one goal, and five assists at 22 years old. She has made several appearances for the squad in 2021 including an earned the start in the U.S. WNT’s match against Argentina in the finale of the SheBelieves Cup.


The USA’s three games of the Summer Series begin with a match against Portugal on June 10 at BBVA Stadium in Houston (broadcast on FS1 begins at 7 p.m. CT with kick-off at 7:30 p.m. CT / 8:30 p.m. ET), followed by a meeting with Jamaica on June 13 (9 p.m. CT / 10 p.m. ET on FS1), also at BBVA Stadium. The USA will then travel to Austin to face Nigeria on June 16 (8 p.m. CT / 9 p.m. ET on ESPN2) at Q2 Stadium in what will be the first soccer match at the brand new, state-of-the-art venue.


USWNT Training Camp Roster -- 2021 WNT Summer Series Presented by AT&T 5G


GOALKEEPERS (3): Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Adrianna Francha (Portland Thorns FC),

Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)


DEFENDERS (8): Alana Cook (Paris Saint-Germain, FRA), Abby Dahlkemper (Manchester City, ENG), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns FC), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)


MIDFIELDERS (6): Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Catarina Macario (Olympique Lyonnais, FRA), Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)


FORWARDS (6): Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Manchester United, ENG), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC), Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)