• Chicago Red Stars

Two Red Stars Join USWNT for Friendlies and CONCACAF W Championship In Mexico



CHICAGO, Ill. (June 13, 2022) – Chicago Red Stars, Alyssa Naeher and Mallory Pugh, will join the USWNT for their upcoming friendly matches against Colombia in Colorado and Utah before the team plays in the CONCACAF W Championship in Mexico.

Pugh and Naeher both joined the USWNT earlier this year, both playing in the SheBelieves Cup. Naeher has made 80 appearances with the national team, appeared in two FIFA World Cups and was part of the U.S. team that won a bronze medal in the Tokyo Olympics last summer, starting all 6 games. Before participating in the SheBelieves Cup, Pugh made her return to the team in autumn 2021 after being part of the 2019 team that won the World Cup. In matches with the USWNT this year, Pugh played in 5 matches, starting in four, and scored and assisted on 5 goals each. For Pugh, the friendly match in Colorado will give the forward a chance to play in her home state in front of her friends and family.

The first friendly match for the USWNT will take place Saturday, June 25 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colorado (7:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. MT on FS1 and ViX) and the second at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah Tuesday, June 28 (10 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. MT on ESPN and ViX). Following the friendly matches, the team will head down to Mexico for the Concacaf W Championship, which will run from July 4-18 and will be played entirely in Monterrey. The Concacaf W Championship is an eight-team tournament at which berths to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and the 2024 Paris Olympics are at stake.