• Connor Moore

Chicago Red Stars Open Voting for 2021 Player Awards

CHICAGOThe Chicago Red Stars opened voting today for the club’s 2021 Player Awards. Starting today, fans can visit www.chicagoredstars.com/awards to cast their vote for players in seven categories: Rookie of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Most Improved, Chicago Grit Award, Best Defender, Humanitarian of the Year and Most Valuable Player. A Golden Boot also will be awarded to Kealia Watt for leading the team in total goals scored during the regular season with a total of five.

Voting for winners will be weighted equally between players, staff/owners and fans and will remain open until 5 p.m. CT Sunday, November 7, with winners being announced the week of November 8 on the Red Stars’ social media channels.

Here are the nominees for each category:

Rookie of the Year: Tatumn Milazzo

Newcomer of the Year: Sarah Woldmoe, Cassie Miller and Mal Pugh

Most Improved: Sarah Woldmoe, Cassie Miller, Rachel Hill,

Makenzy Doniak and Katie Johnson

Chicago Grit: Arin Wright, Rachel Hill, Vanessa DiBernardo, Alyssa Mautz and Kealia Watt

Best Defender: Tierna Davidson, Sarah Gorden, Casey Krueger, Arin Wright and Kayla Sharples

Humanitarian of the Year: Zoe Morse, Sarah Gorden, Danny Colaprico, Rachel Hill and Cassie Miller

MVP: Mal Pugh, Kealia Watt and Morgan Gautrat

To vote for the 2021 Player Awards visit www.chicagoredstars.com/awards to place your votes.