top of page
  • Connor Moore

Chicago Red Stars Announce 2021 Player Award Winners

CHICAGOToday, the Chicago Red Stars announced the winners of the 2021 season player awards. The winners of each category were decided by votes from fans, players, owners and front office staffers. Multiple players were nominated in eight categories: Rookie of the Yea, Newcomer of the Year, Most Improved, Chicago Grit, Defender of the Year, Humanitarian of the Year and Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Forward Kealia Watt also won the team’s Golden Boot award, which is awarded to the player with the most goals scored in the season. Entering the final game of the season against the Orlando Pride, Watt was tied with Mallory Pugh, but her game-winning goal earned her the Golden Boot.

Here are the winners of each category:

Rookie of the Year: Tatumn Milazzo

Newcomer of the Year: Mallory Pugh

Most Improved: Cassie Miller

Chicago Grit: Arin Wright and Kealia Watt

Defender of the Year: Sarah Gorden

Humanitarian of the Year: Zoe Morse

MVP: Mallory Pugh

Golden Boot: Kealia Watt

bottom of page