• ejones357

Chicago Red Stars Announce 2021 NWSL Roster

2021 roster features 22 rostered players and four supplemental rostered players

Chicago (April 5, 2021) - The Chicago Red Stars announced today their 2021 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) roster ahead of the 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup, presented by Secret Deodorant.

Chicago’s roster consists of 22 players, including 13 players who have spent their entire NWSL career with the Red Stars.

Defenders Tierna Davidson and Casey Krueger, midfielder Julie Ertz, goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher, and forward Mallory Pugh join Chicago’s roster as allocated players by the U.S. Soccer federation. Defender Bianca St. Georges returns to the roster as a newly allocated player by Canada Soccer.

Emily Boyd, Sarah Gorden, Kayla Sharples, Arin Wright, Danielle Colaprico, Vanessa DiBernardo, Alyssa Mautz, Zoey Goralski, and Sarah Luebbert have spent their entire NWSL careers with Chicago. They are joined by Morgan Gautrat, Makenzy Doniak, Rachel Hill, Katie Johnson, and Kealia Watt as returning members of the Red Stars roster.

Rounding out the roster are the newly acquired Sarah Woldmoe and Nikki Stanton.

Chicago has also signed four players to supplemental contracts for the 2021 season. Goalkeeper Cassie Miller, defender Zoe Morse, and midfielder Ella Stevens return to Chicago having made appearances for the Red Stars throughout the 2020 NWSL Challenge Cup and Fall Series. Defender Tatumn Milazzo joins Chicago as a newly-acquired supplemental roster player.

Goalkeeper Melissa Lowder has been added to the Red Stars roster as a National Team Replacement player. National Team Replacement Players do not count against the team’s roster limit and can be signed when a National Team Player is away on international duty. Currently the Red Stars have three players on international duty ahead of U.S. WNT friendlies against Sweden and France.

The Red Stars begin 2021 competition this Friday, April 9, against the Houston Dash in the opening game of the 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup, presented by Secret Deodorant. Kickoff from BBVA Stadium is scheduled for 7:30pm CT on CBS Sports Network and Paramount+ in North America and internationally on Twitch.


GOALKEEPERS: Emily Boyd, Cassie Miller, Alyssa Naeher

DEFENDERS: Tierna Davidson, Sarah Gorden, Casey Krueger, Tatumn Milazzo, Zoe Morse, Kayla Sharples, Bianca St. Georges, Arin Wright

MIDFIELDERS: Danielle Colaprico, Vanessa DiBernardo, Julie Ertz, Morgan Gautrat, Alyssa Mautz, Nikki Stanton, Ella Stevens, Sarah Woldmoe

FORWARDS: Makenzy Doniak, Zoey Goralski, Rachel Hill, Katie Johnson, Sarah Luebbert, Mallory Pugh, Kealia Watt